Narsaraopet Lok Sabha seat to be the costliest

Updated By VankayaSun, 05/06/2018 - 09:42
Narsaraopet Lok Sabha seat to be the costliest

2019 Narsaraopet MP elections are likely to go down in the history as the most expensive seat in the whole country. Opposition YSRCP is finding it difficult to match up to the TDP candidates’ riches. Inteestingly, the MP seat has become very costly due to the MLAs who are likely to contest the elections. They are all moneyed and can spend up to Rs 25 crore for each constitutency.

The TDP has Prattipati Pullarao for Chilakaluripet, Speaker Kodela Sivaprasad Rao for Sattenapalli, TDP district chief Anjaneyulu for Vinukonda and realtor for Pedakurapadu. If the TDP has similar financial heavy weights for Macharla and Sattenapalli, the cost of electioneering could go up to Rs 175 crore. Added to this is the expenditure of the MP candidate.

The YSRCP is now scouting for candidates who can match up to these candidates in money and influence. It is eyeing former MP Balashouri, sitting TDP MLA Modugula Venugopal reddy and Kanna Lakshminarayana. Modugula is angry with the TDP at not being made a minister. Modugula’s brother in law Ayodhya Rami Reddy had contested on YSRCP ticket and lost the electons against Rayapati. This time around, he may not contest, but bring Modugula into the party. Balashouri too is very resourceful. Only in case of Kanna, the party may have to finance the elections. Thus, total expenditure for the Narasaraopet MP seat could be anywhere between 250 to Rs 300 crores.


Share If you Like